What I Call A Cure For a Cold

Twitterf97cab1_jpg
I know I’ve posted an awful lot of smoothie recipes. But can I help that I love these quick, convenient, nutrition-packed beverages? :)

The past week I’ve been fighting a cold, today being the first I’ve felt alive in a while, thank God. But now my poor hubby has it. :( I only just realized a week into the sickness that Cobalt and I haven’t eaten very much fruit for nearly a month, though. No wonder we caught it!

I love fruits — they have so many amazing nutrients–such as Vitamin C and antioxidants–that help our bodies become more immune to sicknesses. Without them our body suffers quite a bit.  Fun fact: Pirates were some of the first to realize what vitamin C does for the body (Wiki it, and you’ll find everything you want to know about this vivacious vitamin! ) Even though taking Vitamin C supplements or increasing our intake during a cold doesn’t cure the virus completely, it definitely helps our bodies fight with more vigor!

Really, the best thing to prevent a cold (and other illnesses) is to consume foods high in Vitamin C and antioxidants instead of taking supplements. This smoothie, consisting of orange juice, frozen berries (blueberries, blackberries and strawberries) and a banana really hits the spot! Try and see if you feel any different!

4 thoughts on “What I Call A Cure For a Cold

Leave a Reply

