Children’s Book Baby Shower

About a month ago a friend volunteered me and a few other ladies to help make food for a baby shower to bless an expectant mother in our church. Having only been to a few baby-related events and not having kids myself, I didn’t exactly feel adequate for the job. But when my friend mentioned that it would be a children’s book themed party I got really excited!

You see, I have never been much of a reader (even though I like hearing stories) but I have always, ALWAYS loved kids books. Probably because they’re typically short? Well whatever the case, my favorites are the Hungry, Hungry Caterpillar, the Golden books and Beatrix Potter stories. As a wee child I also liked reading science books about animals and nature, and about adventures. When I nannied my nephew a couple of years ago I was always excited to read from his massive collection of kids’ books.

All that to say, I was really excited to participate in this party. The idea was to create a dish that corresponded to a specific children’s book such as Goodnight Moon, or Where the Wild Things are or The Three Little Pigs or Green Eggs and Ham. I decided to put together “Peter Rabbit Veggies” and “Curious George Bananas.” You can see them pictured along side the other delicious treats!

Aren’t they adorable???

Leave a Reply

