Green Smoothie – Great Way to Sneak in one of the Healthiest Veggies!

Did you know that spinach is one of the healthiest vegetables for you?

All leafy greens are packed with vitamin C, K, and calcium, which are needed to maintain a functional immune system, clotting of blood and strong bones (respectively).

– – – – –

Recently, I discovered the Green Smoothie. . . you know that one that’s been floating all over pinterest? Seriously, it’s everywhere.

Well, I’ve been super skeptical of them, I think because of the green coloring and fear of spinach-flavored bananas (ick). But my friend Ashley told me how she makes hers and ended up convincing me that you absolutely cannot taste the spinach is green smoothies. So I decided to try it.

She was right!

I’ve gotta say: it’s great to have another option now besides spinach salads. Now that’s it’s getting warmer outside, I can find an excuse to make these smoothies more often!

Below is the recipe I used today. It passed the “hubby taste test,” so it must be good! :)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

To make 1-2 glasses, place the following ingredients
in a blender and mix ’til smooth:

soy milk (or you can use regular milk) – 1/2 cup

water (or more milk) – 1/2 cup

frozen pineapple (or mango!) – 1 cup

frozen bananas (makes smoothie thick) – 1 banana

spinach – 6 leaves

Garnish with mint if you like :)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

IMG_8637_ (2) (427x640)And voila! A Green Smoothie, as delicious as can be :) 

Leave a Reply

