Granola Biscuits

Sorry there’s no picture!

Usually I make my own bread and biscuits because it’s cheaper, healthier and yummier than store-bought bread products. I don’t always use the same ingredients, though; I tend to use what I have so I don’t have to buy anything.

Today, I made these granola biscuits. At first, I was concerned they were going to be dry because I had trouble finding ingredients, but surprisingly they were just scrumptious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick margarine
  • 1/4 cup strawberry jam (to replace another stick of margarine)
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 TBS flaxseed
  • added water until it was moist*
  • Then folded in: 1/4 cup raisins

*I would have added milk, applesauce, dry milk + water if I’d had them…

Instead of rolling out the dough and cutting it into shapes, I formed the dough into balls in my hands, as if making cookies. Then I baked ’em at 375F for 15 minutes.

To view the original biscuit recipe from the kitchen of my mother click here.

Leave a Reply

